What is Grok
Grok is strongest when users want a live, internet-connected assistant with a more consumer-facing personality and direct ties into the xAI and X ecosystem. It combines chat, search, voice, image generation, and API access in a way that feels broader than a single chatbot product.
Grok emerged from xAI’s effort to build a real-time, internet-connected assistant closely linked to X and a fast-moving media ecosystem. Since launch it has expanded from a chat product into a broader stack that now includes search, media generation, voice features, and APIs, which makes its trajectory important for anyone tracking consumer AI platforms that are becoming developer platforms too.
Core offerings
- Consumer chat with real-time web and X search.
- Image and video generation through the Imagine family.
- Voice features and developer-facing APIs.
- Multiple paid tiers spanning individuals, teams, business, and enterprise.
Pricing
xAI’s new X Subscription combines X and Grok in five tiers: Free at US$0, Plus at US$8 per month, Premium at US$30 per month, Super at US$100 per month and Ultra at US$200 per month. Premium includes four times the Plus usage allowance and bundles Grok, Cursor Pro and X Premium+; Super provides 15 times the Plus allowance, while Ultra provides 50 times. Team customers use the same per-seat prices on Premium, Super and Ultra and add SSO, administration, consolidated billing, analytics and SOC 2 controls. Existing SuperGrok and other standalone subscribers can keep their current subscriptions or switch.
For developers, Grok 4.6 is US$2 input and US$6 output per million tokens. Grok Voice 3.0 is US$0.08 per minute, or US$4.80 per hour, and the grok-voice-latest alias now points to the new release. Text-to-speech is US$15 per million characters, batch speech-to-text is US$0.10 per hour, and streaming speech-to-text is US$0.20 per hour.
xAI’s Business page separately lists Grok Business at US$30 per user per month for small-to-medium teams. The Business product page and license-management docs describe team seat management, consolidated billing, role-based access control, domain verification and claims, user analytics, custom data retention, connectors, Grok Build, and increased rate limits as part of the business workspace offering. Enterprise is contact-sales only and adds custom SSO, SCIM, custom RBAC, advanced user and access management, dedicated onboarding, customer-managed encryption keys, application-level encryption, and a dedicated data plane.
On the API side, xAI’s developer docs now identify grok-4.7 as the flagship model at US$2 per million input tokens, US$0.50 per million cached input tokens, and US$6 per million output tokens with a 500K context window. Requests above 200K context use higher published rates. xAI also publishes separate unit pricing for image, video, voice-agent, text-to-speech, and speech-to-text APIs.
Model footprint
xAI currently identifies Grok 4.7 as its flagship API model for coding, agentic tasks, and knowledge work. The API catalogue also includes Grok Build and Grok 4.20 variants plus image, video, Grok Voice 3.0, text-to-speech, and speech-to-text endpoints. Image generation starts at US$0.02 per image and video at US$0.05 per second.
Why select Grok
Grok is relevant for teams that want current-event awareness, a consumer-friendly interface, and a vendor whose product is expanding beyond chat into media and developer tooling. It is also worth watching because xAI is moving quickly across both product and API surfaces.
Official sources: The X Subscription, Grok Voice 3.0, Grok pricing, Grok Business, xAI license management, xAI developer pricing, xAI models.
Current models
xAI publishes a relatively developer-friendly current model table, including context windows and short versus long context rates for the text API.
| Model | Context / output | Knowledge / training | Pricing / token use | Speed / notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Grok 4.7grok-4.7 | 500K context | Knowledge cutoff: May 2026 Training data: not publicly disclosed | US$2 input / US$0.50 cached input / US$6 output per 1M tokens; higher rates apply above 200K context | Current flagship for coding, agentic tasks, and knowledge work with configurable reasoning |
Grok 4.6grok-4.6 | 500K context | Knowledge cutoff: not stated on the model page Training data: not publicly disclosed | US$2 input / US$6 output per 1M tokens | Frontier Grok model with reasoning, structured outputs, and function calling |
Grok Build 0.1grok-build-0.1 | 256K context | Knowledge cutoff: not publicly disclosed Training data: not publicly disclosed | Short context: US$1 input / US$0.20 cached / US$2 output per 1M tokens Long context: US$2 input / US$0.40 cached / US$4 output | Lower-cost build-oriented tier for developer and agent workflows |
Grok 4.3grok-4.3 | 1M context | Knowledge cutoff: not publicly disclosed Training data: not publicly disclosed | Short context: US$1.25 input / US$0.20 cached / US$2.50 output per 1M tokens Long context: US$2.50 input / US$0.40 cached / US$5 output | Broader-context Grok tier still live in the API price book |
| Grok 4.20 reasoning / non-reasoning / multi-agent | 1M context | Knowledge cutoff: not publicly disclosed Training data: not publicly disclosed | US$1.25 input / US$0.20 cached / US$2.50 output per 1M short-context tokens | xAI currently exposes specialised 4.20 variants for reasoning and multi-agent behaviour |